Who We Are

The Motor Dealer's Association of Alberta (MDA) strives to serve the collective interest of all its members and promote positive relationships with government, industry, suppliers, consumers and media, by offering needed and effective programs and services. Our members include over 90% of Alberta's franchised new vehicle and heavy truck dealerships.

The MDA is a not-for-profit, industry trade association with only two paid staff: Gerald Wood, President and Denise Kubin, Executive Assistant. The MDA is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of representatives from across the Province of Alberta, and an executive committee.


Curtis Compton
Curtis Compton - Chairman

  • President and Dealer Principal of Adams Chevrolet Buick GMC Ltd. in Wetaskiwin
  • Graduate of the University of Lethbridge B.Mgt.
  • Married, and father of two girls
  • Avid golfer and dog lover

Gerald Wood

Denise 2

Denise Kubin
Executive Assistant to Gerald Wood

2022 - 2023 MDA Executive

Curtis Compton, Adams Chevrolet Buick GMC - Wetaskiwin
Vice Chair:
Glenn Smaha, Davis Chevrolet GMC Buick - Airdrie
2nd Vice Chair:
Greg Stahl, New West Truck Centres - Calgary
Past Chair:
Bently Maitland, Platinum Mitsubishi - Calgary
Sr. Past Chair:
Chad Zender, Zender Ford - Spruce Grove

2022 - 2023 MDA Board of Directors

Colby Longmate, Windsor Motors - Grande Prairie
Michael Webb, Webb's Ford - Vermilion
Trevor Christensen, Summit Chevrolet GMC Buick - Fort McMurray
Ryan Banks, Big Rock Chrysler - Hinton
Alan Hunter, Hunter Motors - Athabasca
Doug Airey, Wolfe GMC Buick - Edmonton
Bruce Kirkland, Lexus of Edmonton
Greg Gordon, Rainbow Ford - Rocky Mountain House
Dean Moe, Gary Moe Hyundai - Red Deer
Blake Clark, Cam Clark Ford - Olds
James O'Dwyer, Palliser Chevrolet – Innisfail
Terry Maddison, Jack Carter Chevrolet Cadillac Buick - Calgary
Craig Shostak, Porsche Centre Calgary
Mike Heddema, Davis GMC Buick - Medicine Hat
Tim Schipper, Lethbridge Toyota
Shane Bosch, Glover International Trucks - Calgary
Jim Gillespie, Calgary Motor Dealers Association
Eleasha Naso, Edmonton Motor Dealers Association